The world chose the seven new wonders


The Taj Mahal, Machu Picchu, the Great Wall of China, the temple of Petra, the Christ the Redeemer, the pyramid of Chichen Itza and the Colosseum of Rome were the chosen jewels

We call the new seven wonders of the modern world the monuments that won in a public and international competition held in 2007, inspired by the list of the seven wonders of the ancient and performed by a private company called New Open World Corporation. More than one hundred million votes, through the Internet and SMS, resulted in this new classification. The initiative started with the Swiss entrepreneur Bernard Weber, founder of the company.

The most frequent question is: Why only 7 wonders? Why did you choose only seven reference points? This arises from the Hellenistic culture that considered that number as the perfect number.



The vote was public. Participants had to register an email on the corporations website and choose their favorite candidates. It was also possible to vote via sms and through a paid telephone number. One of the criticisms of the system used was in practice nothing prevented the same person voted more than once, as long as it did from a different email or SMS. It was possible to vote for only one candidate and receive a certificate of the specific vote by paying two US dollars.

In each vote, seven candidates were chosen from a long initial list, prepared by the corporation, and increased at the request of several countries or by mass voter requests. In the final months of the vote, only the 21 candidates who until then had obtained the largest number of votes participated.

Faced with the protests of the Egyptian government in the final stage, the pyramids of Guiza were removed from the list , a fact that was concealed by the organizers assigning it the status of Honorary Candidate, because it is the only one of the Seven Wonders  that remains standing.





  • To choose the New Wonders of the World, more than a hundred million votes were cast without restricting the origin of the votes or the number of votes per person, which came from all over the world.
  • It is the first mass voting by internet, telephone and text messages in history, open to participants from all over the world.
  • One out of every four people on the planet (around 1.6 billion people) saw the announcement of the results of the vote, transmitted from Lisbon, live on 07/07/07.
  • The ceremony of the announcement of the new wonders was broadcated live by more than 160 television channels to more than 170 countries.
  • The largest number of telephones, computers and internet access is located in developed countries.




  • Machu Picchu, in Cuzco, Peru.
  • Chichen Itza, in Mexico,
  • The Colosseum in Rome, in Italy
  • The Christ the Redeemer, in Italy
  • The Great Wall of China, in China
  • Petra, in Jordan.
  • The Taj Mahal, in Agra, India





  1. Acropolis of Athens, Athens, Greece.
  2. Alhambra of Granada, Spain.
  3. Angkor Wat, Siem Reap, Cambodia.
  4. Neuschwanstein Castle, Bavaria, Germany.
  5. Statue of Liberty, New York, United States.
  6. Eiffel Tower, Paris, France.
  7. Moais of Easter Island, Chile.
  8. Sydney Opera House, Sydney, Australia.
  9. Cathedral / Kremlin, Moscow, Russia.
  10. Mosque of Djingareyber, Mali.
  11. Hagia Sophia, Istambul, Turkey.
  12. Stonehenge, Amesbury, United Kingdom.
  13. Kiyomizu- dera, Kyoto, Japan.




The project has been criticized for different reasons:

  • The Unesco , the United Nations entity that declared as World Heritage sites of cultural or natural importance, did not give the support for this campaign, media and personally consider Weber. He declared that the sentimental value of the monuments is not enough to include it in a list of the characteristics that are intended. The international organization affirmed that voting is not universal, while it leaves out millions of people who do not have access to the internet, and that the list of candidates was created under unscientific and educational criteria.



  • Another criticism made by some scholars of art is the fact that the seven wonders are chosen by vote, when artistic merit is not chosen by vote and less by people who do not have artistic knowledge.


  • Others, such as the director of Chichen Itza, thought that this type of initiative fosters competitiveness and discrimination.



I think that if we agree or disagree with the election and that it seems that some other deserves a place also on the podium, we can not deny that all the chosen ones are really wonderful …

Many of these constructions (even the preselected ones that were not included in the final list) are impressive and to know them more thoroughly, detailing elements such as the construction process, the historical context, the architectural style, the function that fulfills such construction, is a part very important that brings us much closer to a more and more complete understanding of our Humanity. We can see, establish and recognize the greatest and most incredible achievements of Humanity.



  •  and Neil Morris, The Seven Wonders of the Modern World .
  •  Neil Morris, and James Field, The Seven Wonders of the Medieval World . Chelsea House
  • DEpiro, Peter, and Mary Desmond Pinkowish, What Are the Seven Wonders of the World? and 100 Other Great Cultural Lists .
  • Morris, Neil, The Seven Wonders of the Natural World . Chrysalis Books.